RESTLESS LEG SYNDROME (RLS)

This could be one reason for poor sleep and the feeling of exhaustion that people with Fibromyalgia(FM) have. Approximately 40% of people with FM also have Restless Leg Syndrome(RLS).  RLS is a neurological disorder characterized by unpleasant sensations in the legs and an uncontrollable urge to move when at rest. People describe these unpleasant sensations as burning, creeping, tugging, or like insects crawling inside the legs.  The sensations may range in severity from uncomfortable to irritating to painful.

To relieve the discomfort of RLS you must keep the legs in motion.  This causes constant tossing and turning in bed and often having to get up and walk to relieve the sensations. This leaves you exhausted by morning.

A new video was just posted diagnosing RLS:

.

I suffer from RLS and I can tell you it is not fun.  I am on a medication that controls it now.  However, like all medications there are side effects which you have to consider.  Always, I repeat, ALWAYS do your homework.  I always research everything the doctors give me BEFORE I start taking anything.  My doctors are great and they know me now.  I make sure they know their facts.

Have a GREAT Day!!

Donna

About Donna

I am a Certified Reiki Practitioner, freelance writer, poet and mentor of Life.
This entry was posted in FIBROMYALGIA and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.